War Witness Archive

War Witness Archive is an artistic inventory of memory about world wars. The project has started as the research of photographic archive related to the World War I history and is now developing in contrast to the World War II photographic archive.

The Archive forms its body collecting testimonies about past events stored in the memory of contemporaries. The exposition at the Contemporary Arts Museum in 2014 has become the first embodiment of WWA. The project continues its lifecycle where a traditional photographic archive gets a new state, a state of metaarchive.

The Archive nowadays is a flow of history waves which gains new features echoing all it contacts with. Spreading itself in the contemporary context and getting new forms, gathering actual reactions on itself. It is a process where The Archive constantly memorizes new states and directs the knowledge obtained on the work with its content - the unconcious nature of world catastrophies.

On the first stage of its realization the WWA project has absorbed the local context, surroundings and mentality of Belarusians seeking answer to the question - what does it mean to be witness of historic event today? The Archive goes now into global context. And inside the Archive appears a space for dialogue concerning understanding and the possibility of witness's voice to be heard.

Aleksei Shinkarenko

War Witness Archive

Архив свидетеля войны — художественная инвентаризация памяти о мировых войнах. Проект начался с исследования фотографического архива, связанного с историей Первой мировой войны, и развивается в сопоставлении его с фотоархивом Второй мировой войны.

Архив нарабатывает свою форму, собирая свидетельства о произошедших событиях, находящихся в памяти современников. Первым воплощением Архива свидетеля войны стала экспозиция в Музее современного изобразительного искусства осенью 2014 года. Проект продолжает свой жизненный цикл, в котором традиционный архив фотографий приобретает новое состояние — состояние метаархива. 



Архив сейчас — это волновой поток историй, который обретает новые свойства, отражаясь от всего, с чем соприкасается. Распространяясь в современном контексте и обретая новые формы, наполняясь актуальными реакциями на себя. В этом процессе Архив постоянно запоминает новые состояния и направляет приобретенное знание на работу со своим содержимым — неосознанной природой мировых катастроф.


На первом этапе реализации проекта Архив впитал локальный контекст, среду и сознание белорусов в поисках ответа на вопрос: “Что значит быть свидетелем исторического события сегодня?” Сейчас Архив выходит в глобальное пространство. Формируется среда для диалога о понимании, о возможности голоса свидетеля быть услышанным.

Алексей Шинкаренко